About 2017-05-13T17:07:52+00:00

About Us

Our Story
Meet Our Team
Our Initiatives

The Central AlabamaWorks Story

Central AlabamaWorks! is a non-profit organization established to work throughout Region 5, a thirteen-county workforce region in Central Alabama including the following counties: Autauga, Bullock, Chambers, Coosa, Dallas, Elmore, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Montgomery, Perry, Russell, and Tallapoosa. Our Council is business-driven, business-led, and comprised of 26 voting members, as well as leaders from education, chambers of commerce, economic development organizations, non-profits, and state and local government agencies who meet quarterly.  A 13-member Board of Directors meets monthly to govern the Council.

Sixty-five percent of the Central AlabamaWorks! voting membership represents business and industry within the region. Representation is geographically diverse as well as industry diverse. Council members participate on Council committees and/or with our industry partnerships (healthcare; manufacturing; transportation, distribution, and logistics; agriculture; hospitality, tourism, and recreation; and construction), which were chosen because of the high demand of these industries in Region 5. Council committees and industry partnerships meet as needed.

We bring industry, jobseekers, students, and service providers together to find solutions for workforce needs!

The VISION of Central AlabamaWorks! is to supply business and industry with a high quality, qualified workforce

The MISSION of Central AlabamaWorks! is to facilitate a system that provides business and industry with job seekers and students who have received the education and training that aligns with their needs throughout the region.

Meet Our Team

Mikki Ruttan
Mikki RuttanExecutive Director
mruttan@centralalabamaworks.com
334.300.8592
Janet Ormond
Janet OrmondChair, Central AlabamaWorks!
Representing Russell County
Ormond Workforce Solutions
jormond@centralalabamaworks.com
334.718.6275
M. Wayne Vardaman
M. Wayne VardamanVice-Chair, Central AlabamaWorks!
Representing Dallas County
Selma-Dallas County Economic Development Authority
wvardaman@selmaeda.com
334.875.8365
Karen Gresham
Karen GreshamSecretary, Central AlabamaWorks!
Representing Lee County
East Alabama Medical Center
karen.gresham@eamc.org
334.528.1233
Sheron Rose
Sheron RoseTreasurer, Central AlabamaWorks!
Representing Montgomery County
Montgomery Chamber of Commerce
srose@montgomerychamber.com
334.240.9470
Connie Bainbridge
Connie BainbridgeBoard Member
Representing Autauga County
Central Alabama Electric Cooperative
cbainbridge@coop.caec.com
800.545.5735 ext. 2151
Ashley Brooks Kelser, PHR
Ashley Brooks Kelser, PHRBoard Member
Representing Elmore County
Neptune Technology
(334) 283-7224
abrooks@neptunetg.com
Aubrey Carter
Aubrey CarterBoard Member
Representing Perry County
Alabama Power Company
acarter@southernco.com
334.875.1050
Don McClellan
Don McClellanBoard Member
Representing Tallapoosa County
Lake Martin Area Economic Development Alliance
dmcclellan@lakemartineda.com
256-215-4410
Cleve Poole
Cleve PooleBoard Member
Representing Lowndes County
Pioneer Electric Cooperative
cpoole@pioneerelectric.com
334.382.4900
Pebblin W Warren
Pebblin W WarrenBoard Member
Representing Macon County
State of Alabama House of Representatives
tiger9127@bellsouth.net
334.727.9127
Ron Stiver
Ron StiverBoard Member
Representing Coosa County
Wellington Industries
rstiver@wellingtonind.com
256.212.9960
Kimberly Fuller Carter
Kimberly Fuller CarterBoard Member
Representing Chambers County
Chamber County Development Authority
kcarter@chambersida.com
334.642.1460
Hawthorne Reed
Hawthorne ReedBoard Member
Representing Bullock County
Bullock County Hospital
reedh1952@hotmail.com
334.738.2140
Download the Central AlabamaWorks! Council Roster

Our Initiatives

Central AlabamaWorks! to develop strategic alliances by building and expanding effective industry partnerships.

Central AlabamaWorks! to impact our systems of education and training by aligning resources with employers’ workforce needs, then connecting those job seekers and the underemployed to these career opportunities.

Central AlabamaWorks! to promote awareness of career opportunities in Region 5 and the associated skills required to secure a career in each field.